Leiden University Fund.

nl en

Chair for Central European Studies finds new home at LUF

The Austrian Studies Fund was established with a festive gathering in the Faculty Club on Friday afternoon, 23 June. This fund is the successor of the Austrian Studies Foundation and will continue and expand the program of activities of the Central European Studies chair at Leiden University, which was established in 1992.

One of the guests this afternoon was Mr. Hugo Weiland. In the early 1990s he founded the Austrian Studies Foundation with the aim of bringing together knowledge and experts in the field of Austrian en Central European culture and history. With the transition from a foundation to a named fund, the continuation of the Central European Studies chair is guaranteed. The chair is currently held by Professor Sarah Cramsey.

In addition to the founder of the foundation, we also welcomed the board members, members of the curatorium, academic colleagues and representatives of the Austrian embassy and government.

Looking to the future

The named fund has a clear objective; conducting scientific research and disseminating knowledge about the history, science, literature, art, morals and customs of Central Europe in general and Austria in particular. The chair plays a central role in this.

The festive signing ceremony of the fund's establishment was preceded by contributions from various speakers. For example, Professor Cramsey gave a short lecture entitled 'Central Europe and Our World' and Dr Steven Engelsman, chairman of the Austrian Studies Foundation, elaborated on the history, importance and future of the chair.

The LUF looks forward to contributing to the growth and flourishing of the endowed chair in Central European Studies and what it stands for: bridging cultures and opening up knowledge about Austria and Central Europe to students, scientists and the wider public in the Netherlands.

Are you considering a donation to the named fund? Please contact Lilian Visscher, director of LUF, via l.b.visscher@luf.leidenuniv.nl.

Header photo (from left to right): Wijnand Herman, Aletta Stas-Bax, Steven Engelsman, Evi Weiland and Lilian Visscher.

This website uses cookies.  More information.