Leiden University Fund.

nl en


An excellent thesis, the most impressive report or the best research question. LUF stimulates ambitious students to get the best out of themselves.

Leiden University Thesis Prizes

The annual Leiden University Thesis Prizes are awarded during the Dies Natalis for alumni. These prizes are funded by the Minerva Reunisten Fund 1957/1961/1965 that is managed by LUF. 

All the rules and conditions relating to the thesis prizes can be found in the
Leiden University 2020 Regulation on Thesis Prizes (in Dutch). The final submission date for nominations from the faculties is 10 December 2019, and the presentation of the award takes place on 15 February 2020 during the Dies Natalis for alumni. 

Leiden University Thesis Prizes 2018

Prizes for international projects

Every year, a large number of students study abroad funded by a subsidy from the  LUF International Study Fund (LISF). When they return they write a report on what they have learned, researched and studied. This report is automatically entered in the competition for the LISF Prize. The winner receives a cash prize of € 500, and is also invited to give a talk at a Cleveringa Meeting abroad.

Janneke Fruin-Helb Grant

The aim of this grant is to provide extra attention and financial support for excellent LISF research proposals.  Candidates with a LISF research project that is both highly creative and of excellent quality can be considered for the Janneke Fruin-Helb Grant of a maximum of € 2,250.

The grant is named after Mrs A.M. Fruin-Helb, former director of LUF (1989-2003) and co-founder of the LUF International Study Fund (LISF).

Schild-de Groen Fund

The Schild-de Groen Fund was established to support research into the prevention and treatment of all forms of cancer. This named fund awards three annual prizes for a student publication or thesis relating to cancer research. The three winners receive a cash prize of € 1,500, € 750 and € 500. The prizes are awarded at a gathering of residents and former residents of the student house at Rapenburg 110 that is held in November.

Krijn Rietveld Memorial Innovation Award

In honor of Krijn Rietveld (1957 – 2018), LUF and Royal DSM launched the Krijn Rietveld Memorial Innovation Award to recognize and reward excellence in innovative research that contributes to a brighter society. This prestigious award accompanies a cash prize of €10,000 (ten thousand euros) and is handed out annually for the best thesis (MSc), dissertation (PhD) or post-doc research in the field of bio-sciences or data sciences in relation to nutrition. 

This website uses cookies.  More information.